Easy Homemade Pinto Beans

This is so simple that it doesn’t even really need a recipe. Darrian, our teenager, loves beans in all forms, so I try to make sure that there is a dish of these in the fridge at all times. It’s certainly better than Cheetos!

You can usually find dried beans of all sorts in the bulk section of the grocery store. Take your own cloth bag and just fill that up. It’s light enough that the weight shouldn’t make a difference.

Here’s what you’ll need:

4 cups dried pinto beans, soaked overnight

Bacon, 1 thick slice

1 tsp dried minced garlic (or a tablespoon of fresh minced)

1 Tbs + 1 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 Tbs dried minced onion

1 1/2 Tbs chili powder

1 1/4 tsp cayenne

1 1/2 Tbs adobo powder

1 tsp hot sauce

Pick over your beans for rocks before starting, then rinse them (the beans, not the rocks) with cold water. Put the beans in a large bowl and cover with plenty of water. Let’em sit overnight for a good soak.

In the morning (or just when you’re ready), rinse the beans and put them in a big ol’ stock pot. Cover with enough water so that when the water evaporates you don’t end up with a pot of dried, burnt beans. Add the bacon and the seasonings. I don’t even bother to stir it, but feel free to stir if you are compelled to. Bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer, for about 3 hours. Keep an eye on the water level!

I start checking them for doneness at about 2 hours, depending on how long they soaked overnight. They’re done when they’re nice and tender.

Drain the beans, discard the bacon strip (or give it to the dogs), and there you have it. A great source of protein, inexpensive, and super easy. The hardest part is waiting for them to cook!

Long live the bean.

Author: TatiaElizabeth

Hi! I'm Tatia Elizabeth. I live on a small homestead in the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina with my husband and youngest son. We've got 5 children total, but the rest are grown and on their own. We do our best to live a sustainable life that is zero-waste and plastic free. I'm a sustainability consultant, an emergency preparedness coach, a unschooling mom, a radical homemaker, and freelance writer. I received my BA in Health and Wellness with an emphasis in environmental science from Purdue Global University in 2019. Alan (my wonderful husband) is a retired Navy veteran and personal development coach. I also love cheese, wine, and my family, not necessarily in that order. I'm excited that you're here!

One thought on “Easy Homemade Pinto Beans”

Leave a comment