Black & Pinto Bean Posole

images (3)

I got this recipe from the Real Simple Magazine (that’s also their picture), but modified it a bit. It says for it to be done in a slow cooker, but mine was being crazy and wouldn’t heat up, so I did it on the stove. It also called for all black beans, but since I had just canned pintos (and a friend gave a jar of her canned black beans), I just combined the two and it turned out amazing! This is also good for all of my veggie friends because it uses veggie broth instead of chicken broth. I also used canned hominy from the store because I don’t know how to make that myself, but I’m sure I could figure it out. There’s another thing to learn, right? Anyway, give tit a go and see what you think! It’s really, really easy, packed with stuff that’s good for you, and makes enough for leftovers, which I always count as a plus…because, you know…teenagers.

8 cups homemade vegetable broth

3 poblano chiles, chopped (I thought this would be too many, but it was perfect)

1 onion, chopped

8 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil (I just eyeballed this one)

2 Tbs chili powder

1 Tbs tomato paste

1 tsp oregano

1 pint cooked black beans

2 pints cooked pinto beans (check out the recipe for these here)

2 15 oz cans white hominy, drained

1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 2 limes)

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/8 tsp cayenne

Fun toppings: cilantro (man, I love this stuff), sour cream, avocado (not my favorite, but if that’s the way you roll, go for it), sliced radishes, or sliced green cabbage. Or whatever else flips your pancakes.

Combine the broth, poblanos, onion, garlic, oil, chile powder, tomato paste, oregano, and beans in a big stock pot. Heat to boiling, then let it simmer on low for an hour. Stir in the hominy, lime juice, salt, and cayenne. Heat through and serve with whatever toppings you chose.

This made quite a bit (about 8 servings, but I feel like it was more), but like I said, we dig leftovers, so plan to have this for lunch the next day. Unless you’re serving a gaggle of teenagers. In that case, plan on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

Author: TatiaElizabeth

Hi! I'm Tatia Elizabeth. I live on a small homestead in the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina with my husband and youngest son. We've got 5 children total, but the rest are grown and on their own. We do our best to live a sustainable life that is zero-waste and plastic free. I'm a sustainability consultant, an emergency preparedness coach, a unschooling mom, a radical homemaker, and freelance writer. I received my BA in Health and Wellness with an emphasis in environmental science from Purdue Global University in 2019. Alan (my wonderful husband) is a retired Navy veteran and personal development coach. I also love cheese, wine, and my family, not necessarily in that order. I'm excited that you're here!

Leave a comment